I have a confession to make

31 Aug

I have a confession to make.  I have been toying with the idea of basing a “bad-guy” character on a co-worker.  I usually try not to base characters on people I know.  I would hate for a friend or family member to have hurt feelings should they read my work and figure out I used them as inspiration.  But, in the case of my co-worker, I was willing to make an exception.  Two things struck me as I pondered this dilemma today.  First, I actually like all my characters, even the bad guys and gals.  Second, in order to base a character on this particular co-worker, I would have to understand her, figure out what makes her tick.  I’m not ashamed to admit that I’m not feeling mature enough to want to understand her.  Understanding her would mean that I could no longer simply think of how horrible she is; I would be forced to see her as a whole person. 

Maybe that is the lesson to be learned.  I want my bad characters to be loved as much as the good.  I want the reader to care what happens to them.  For now, I’m giving up basing a character on my co-worker in favor of writing a character that the readers will love to hate.  It’s much more fun to let my imagination run wild.

Happy Writing,

m

Leave a Reply

